Pray for Brookings, OR

I haven’t spoken about this, but it’s been on my mind and in my heart. You may have seen a couple posts I’ve shared among friends on Facebook, but…
 
My hometown in Oregon is in as severe danger as Texas, but because of fire, not rain. The fire is consuming over 100,000 acres of forested lands and is growing very quickly. It’s only 5 miles from the city limits. My beloved Mother in Law and her husband still reside there, for now. It may not be long before they’ll be required to evacuate. I know their two dogs are affected by the smoke in the air. Please keep them in your prayers.
oregon-wildfires-burn-across-state-of-oregon
Photo: Amanda Douglass, via Inciweb
 
My Mom and her husband also live in Brookings. My younger brother is also there. Between them, they have two dogs. I’m sure they’re affected by the fire as well. Pray for them, please?
 
In addition, there is an extremely large homeless population in my hometown due to the housing crash in 2015 (the same year we became homeless!) There are countless children, infants, women and elderly who are severely affected by these conditions. I know that our prayers are desperately needed.
 
I regret not posting anything sooner. It’s just that this situation is too close to my heart and if you know me well, you know that some things I have to process before I can ever discuss in detail. I don’t ever plan to return to Brookings in this life unless the Lord physically forces me back there for some reason.
 
 
If you’d like to keep up to date on what’s happening there, I’ve provided a link. I’m sure there are countless links to fundraising sites, however, if you truly want to help, I will direct you to one reliable source to give that has more than 20 years track record of reaching out to homeless, elderly, disenfranchised and children. St. Timothy’s Episcopal Church is the hub of homeless ministries and their Vicar, Father Bernie Lindley is a local fisherman and has his hand in many different community organizations. He was born and raised in Brookings and knows the people well. He’s well respected by local first responders and government officials and has the community’s backing to help those in need. You can reach Father Bernie Lindley at St. Timothy’s on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays between 9 am and 12 noon (PST) by calling: (541) 469-3314 or by email: office@sttimothyepiscopal.org or bernie@sttimothyepiscopal.org
 
Or you can get more information on the ministries they offer by clicking: St. Timothy’s Episcopal Church
Thank you for your prayers and support of the community during this time.

Leave a comment