Take My Heart

Take my life, and let it be consecrated, Lord, to thee.  – Frances R. Havergal

Often, when Anthony and I enter into a time of trial, we will pray for God to use us and our situation to edify other’s faith. Only recently have I gained the foresight to plead with God to edify my own faith. It’s been wonderful, the results.

During a recent Bible Study, I read the words “Out of the mouth of babies and infants, you have established strength because of your foes, to still the enemy and the avenger.” It blew me away for many reasons, but the part I’ll write about today is this – Your enemies. 

What’s the significance? Everything. These aren’t my enemies, King David’s enemies or even my neighbor’s enemies – they’re God’s enemies. All of them.

For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.

Ephesians 6:12

You see, all of “our” enemies don’t hate us, nor do they want to hurt us. They’re fighting against God. We are physical representations of Christ, so we become the target.

Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of Me.

Matthew 5:11

We are blessed because we’re God’s children. Because He’s been working through us and because there is a gain in His Kingdom. We know He’s been glorified because the enemy is mad.

Understanding this key spiritual truth has been a major breakthrough for me. I don’t need to stay low or stay angry when someone strikes me. It wasn’t me they were aiming for! I can forgive because really, there wasn’t much to forgive in the first place. I was not the target. Christ was.

Jesus laid up on that cross and asked God to forgive the very men who murdered Him. I can forgive those who’ve offended me, abused me, hurled insults at me. I can stand strong in the faith because I know

God has been at work in me

God has worked through me

God has been glorified

I’m important to God

And Satan is mad.

 But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,

Matthew 5:44

Know that you’re important to God. The enemy will come because you’re His and that is something to be glad about. Dust your shoulders off, fall to your knees and pray. The enemy will come again so repeat, daily.

If being broken, abused, insulted and persecuted means that God is glorified, so be it! My life and everything I own belongs to God and He can use me however He sees fit.

Are you willing to let Christ use you however He sees fit? Have you ever considered that He is glorified through your trials? Do you struggle to forgive? Do you struggle to see your enemies as His?

Ask God to reveal Himself to you. Ask Him to help you forgive. He will! He will also strengthen you, prepare you for the road ahead and surround you with loving kindness. He will never forsake you or leave you. There is power in His name, so call it out whenever you need help. And remember, your enemies aren’t coming for you. They’re coming for Him.

In Christ,

Mandy ❤

Leave a Reply

