Menial Tasks Reap Heavenly Rewards

Perhaps this will come as a surprise to you, but daily I’m found grumbling about breastfeeding. Sometimes I count down the days or months until my son Jackson is one year old so I can just abruptly stop. I’m tired, it’s inconvenient, I have too many responsibilities… the list of grumbles goes on and on. 

Someday I’ll miss these moments. I know because I missed them after I stopped at 6 months with Theresa and 2 weeks with Chelsea. It was hard and it wasn’t what was best for myself or my babies.

I’m reminded of a few key spiritual truths as I consider this issue a third time:

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. Colossians 3:23-24

And

“And the King will say, ‘I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were doing it to me!’  Matthew 25:40

 IMG_20151018_104246_kindlephoto-4913346

The Word of God asks me to consider what I’m doing as important work! It’s His work. I’m seen and known by a Holy God. Isn’t that wonderful?  He cares for even the tiniest, most menial tasks and rewards us for them.

Whatever you’re working at or tempted to grumble about today, just remember God sees you! You’re not merely mopping the floor, sweeping up crumbs or folding your husband’s shirts. You are doing God’s work and serving the King!

Leave a Reply

