September 14, 2007 – Our Firstborn’s Birthdate

Tomorrow marks the 7th birthday of our sweet Theresa (Tess). I’ll never forget going into full labor at SeaTac International airport, waiting for Anthony’s plane from Hawaii to land. (He was in the U.S. Navy at the time and was able to fly home from deployment a week early for the birth of our firstborn.) As soon as it landed, I was texting him “HURRY! Run! I’m in labor!” It was agonizing waiting for him to get across the airport, wait for his luggage and then load it into my mom’s mini van. Even more agonizing was the drive from SeaTac to Everett, WA so I could deliver Theresa. I wasn’t sure we’d make it.

When I first got to OB triage, they almost sent me home! I wasn’t dilated enough. But then the monitors on my belly started beeping like crazy. Theresa was in distress, and the nurses and doctor shoved Anthony aside and rushed me into the OR for an emergency C-section. The doctor left for a moment to scrub up and prepare for the operation.

Originally the doctor had claimed he had 30 minutes to get her out, then the monitors beeped further as the nurses were scrubbing up and preparing for the surgery. The nurses scrambled about, cursing “Oh sh!t! The baby’s dying!” They frantically called the doctor back into the operating room and informed him he had less than 5 minutes to get in there or the baby would die. (The umbilical cord was wrapped around her neck, choking her to death.)

Witnessing all of this firsthand, I went into a full panic attack, as the anesthesiologist rushed to my side with the gas mask to put me to sleep. A few minutes later, I hazily heard the precious cry of my beautiful Theresa, then fell back into a deep slumber. I’m not sure how much longer it was until I awoke again and was able to hold our beautiful 6 lb 12 oz, 21 inch daughter. That first day, Anthony and I read 1 Corinthians 13 to our sweet girl and prayed over her tiny body, that God would always bless this beautiful life.

Seven years later and I’m still madly in love with this beautiful daughter of ours. I can’t wait to celebrate the anniversary of her birth tomorrow!

Happy Birthday Theresa
My beautiful girl, Miss Tess!

Leave a Reply

