Psalm 51:7

A Lifetime of Regret If We Allow It {Weekly Scripture}

Read: Isaiah 12 

A common theme of my blog is growing and changing – pushing off from where I was to make a better future for myself and my family from what we’ve had in the past. Like many men and women from the Bible, I’ve made many grievous mistakes in this life, yet I seek the God who will rip the sin from my hands and feed me – truly feed me spiritual food and wash me clean.

Psalm 51:7

I could live a lifetime of regret, thinking about all the people I’ve hurt, all the opportunities wasted, all the messages I’ve failed to hear, but what would that really solve? I’m not advocating a hardened heart, but rather a repentant one. Repent, friends, and be free from all of that. Those moments are past, and there is little you can do to fix it sometimes. I’ve lost some truly wonderful friends due to my selfish and destructive behavior. Recently, I’ve wanted to reach out to them and apologize, to try to make things right, but I know it’s not possible. They are as gone from my life as my abuser and his wife. If there were ever to be reconciliation, it will have to come from God and God alone. No amount of meddling, regret, apologizing or pleading can make it otherwise. I’d lie and say I easily accept this, but what good would that do, Brothers and Sisters? It hurts to know I’ve foolishly thrown away a friendship, yet I know I can still pray for their success and joy in this life. I do not need to allow myself to marinate in regret, or open up old wounds for them. I can pray and move on, growing and changing as the Lord sees fit.

Thought for the week: You are never stuck in the place where you are right now. No matter how repugnant others say you are, you are God’s blessed, beloved son or daughter. You belong to the King and He will always come after you to save you, even from yourself. Call out to Him now.

Prayer: Dear Jesus, I need You in my life. I am lost, lonely, confused. I’ve made some poor choices in my life and I need Your help to grow and change beyond the person I am today. Give me the strength to fight this battle, the faith to know that You are with me, and the courage to keep going even when others say I should quit. I also need Wisdom and Peace that can come only from You. It’s in Your Holy and Precious Name I pray, Jesus. Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

