JOY - true and lasting!

J.O.Y. in the World (an open letter to unbelievers)

I was wrong. Psychology isn’t my calling. I haven’t said anything after leaving school, other than I “might go back” at some point. But I know for a fact that I won’t. The further I got into my classes, the more I felt convicted that psychology is not God-pleasing. In fact, there are many who would agree that psychology is more damaging to Christianity than it is helpful. If God is not all that we need in order to heal, then is He still God at all?

I’m not really sure what God has called me to, other than to serve my family, my community, and the Church. I’m not one to see success the same way others do. This has caused a lot of pain, many have lashed out and told me I’m “stuck in the 50’s” and “haven’t really accomplished anything” in this life. Have you any idea how hurtful that is?

I serve my God and my family with everything I’ve got. Some days, I have nothing left for anyone outside of my family. I don’t want to work outside the home, because there’s so much work to do here. I feel like I’m exactly where I need to be right now. I find true joy in serving Jesus, others and then myself. It’s when I venture outside those walls and gather with unbelievers that I find myself sinfully desiring more and needing to bow low at the feet of Jesus in repentance. Fortunately, He takes me back every time.

To those who would seek to oppose this lifestyle, poke fun at it, and stick your noses in the air because you’re able to make more money working outside the home, or choosing to live in a partnership rather than a godly marriage, serving your spouse daily – good luck to you. I hope your god serves you well.

As for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.

Leave a Reply

