Gallery

I’m Turning 31 Soon!

Income Tax day is coming up in a few weeks, and so is my birthday! Yep, I’m an income tax baby. I’ll be 31 this year and I’ve decided to share 31 reasons I’m thankful. I’m on a journey to appreciate the little things in life, so here goes:

  1. The squeal of a happy child as they’re being chased by the Tickle Monster
  2. Rosie’s reaction to the cat toy on a string. Apparently my French Bulldog/Pug mix thinks she’s a cat, too.
  3. My neighbors daffodils, dancing in the wind
  4. Reading two of my favorite children’s books to my daughters – Bob by Tracey Campbell Pearson, and Skippyjon Jones by Judy Schachner
  5. The sweet sigh of happy children falling into a deep sleep
  6. Dog toots. Rosie has hilarious, squeaky toots that freak her out. She runs in circles, attempting to find the source of the squeak.
  7. The smell of my husband’s cologne.
  8. Our bedside lamps. I’ve wanted matching lamps for years and this year I found the perfect ones at a church rummage sale
  9. Coffee first thing in the morning
  10. The Upper Room Daily Devotional Guide. I’ve been really blessed by both the daily scriptures and the insights from various writers.
  11. My husband’s hugs.
  12. My Student Bible. I love the deeper look into the origin of certain passages. I get so much more out of my daily reading this way
  13. Long burning white candles, no scent. So worth the money! And I don’t get a headache from them since there’s no scent.
  14. Fred Meyer‘s coupon system. They send me so many coupons for organic products, produce and grass-fed beef that it really pays for me to shop there.
  15. Netflix. I’m currently hooked on the 2010 show Parenthood (I’m on the 3rd Season out of 5) and I’m really hoping Crosby can get it together soon.
  16. The silly lawn gnomes and other garden sculptures I see at the store near the entrance/exit. They’re so fun to stop and look at.
  17. Putting pancakes or bread crumbs on my back porch to attract blue jays. They’re so cranky and they have the nerve to shout at me before taking a mouthful of sustenance back to their nests.
  18. Playing Toy Story 3 Yahtzee Jr with my 4-year-old. She rolled three “Poctor Dorkchops” and got really excited. (Evil Doctor Porkchop)
  19. Pig tails on little girls. So cute!
  20. Looking at baby pictures of my girls, with my girls and attempting (futilely) to explain to them that they can’t actually remember the events they’re looking at.
  21. Sun setting over the ocean
  22. My 4 year old’s unique sense of fashion
  23. Hugs from my 6-year-old.
  24. Watching my 6-year-old practice Tee Ball
  25. Listening to my husband rant about work. (He works in corrections, so his rants can be particularly hilarious on any given day)
  26. Reading Flywheel for the fourth time and still learning new Truths from it
  27. The Cinderella adorned Laundry and Chore charts I just printed the other day.
  28. The pink and purple curtains in my daughters’ bedroom. So pretty and such a pop of color in a white rental house bedroom.
  29. My husband’s excitement over the blackout curtains I just purchased for him.
  30. Growing my own food. Right now I have strawberries, tomatoes, garlic, key limes, Meyer lemons, venous oranges, broccoli, cabbage, lettuce, cucumbers, oregano, rosemary, mint, chocolate mint (delightful for tea!), kale, and basil growing. And I live in a small apartment with 2 kids, 2 pets and my husband and I. Oh yeah…it can be done folks! (I’m also going to start growing green onions and potatoes soon.)
  31. Pastor Yang. I’m so grateful for my Pastor’s wisdom and insight that he shares with us each week.

I’m thankful for so much more than this. I had a hard time stopping. 🙂 I’ve provided links for many of the items I’ve mentioned here so that you can be blessed by them too. I love sharing tips and ideas with people.

Leave a Reply

