29 Days Until Christmas: Santa Necklaces

Santa Necklace

My girls are absolutely nuts about Santa! They likely get it from me. One of my all-time favorite (modern) Christmas movies is Elf. I am absolutely like Will Ferrell in Elf.

Santa - Elf
This picture cracks me up EVERY time I see it!

Santa is going to be jet-skiing into the port of Brookings-Harbor soon, and I am so excited to see him! A couple years ago, I completely embarrassed my husband in the Seattle Macy’s store when I jumped up and down and screamed “Santa! He’s here!” as Santa walked on stage. My kids, mind you, were standing perfectly still and calm next to daddy. Yep. I love me some Santa Claus! I love the magic and the mystery, and the mythology. I even love the true story of the original Santa – St. Nicholas. I go nuts for Santa, I tell ya! My kids do too.

Chelsea has been drawing maps for Santa to find our new house and Theresa has been drawing pictures of Santa. We’ve kept the magic alive all year-long by calling Santa within earshot of the girls. Occasionally I’ll just pick up the telephone, pretend to press a few buttons and start talking to Santa, telling him what wonderful children I have and updating him on their Christmas lists. One time the girls’ room was really, really messy and so I called Santa and let him know all about it. The girls decided to make a deal with Santa – if they cleaned their room, Santa would leave a small gift for them. It worked! Santa left them the complete collection of Beethoven movies (which Mrs. Claus had found on clearance recently and was saving for a special moment).

To me, it’s important to keep the magic and mystery alive for my girls as long as possible. Childhood is over in a blink of an eye. It is such a short season in life that I want them to be able to enjoy it to the fullest. So far, it seems to be working. My girls are the happiest, most well-adjusted kids I’ve ever met, and I’m not just saying that because I’m their mother. It’s been told to me by countless people in our lives. It’s only by the grace of God that I can say this. If it weren’t for His angels coming and rescuing us throughout the six years of hell/Navy life, we would never be the happy, healthy family we are now. We would never be able to enjoy this season in our lives.

I am so grateful for my beautiful, sweet daughters. I look forward to them wearing these lovely necklaces throughout the Christmas season this year and for years to come.

And now…may you enjoy a couple of photos from last year’s Christmas (because my camera died, I couldn’t find the batteries and the kids are in bed already).

ChelseaElf

Chelsea House

Theresa House

Bug Bug and Rosie

One thought on “29 Days Until Christmas: Santa Necklaces

Leave a Reply

