31 Days Until Christmas: Frosty Countdown Clock

Frosty Christmas Countdown

 

I had seen the cutest countdown clock on pinterest this morning and I was inspired to make something similar with my girls. Fortunately, my husband polished off a box of cereal this morning, and I had all the rest of the materials on hand. As soon as I told the girls that they get to paint, they were ecstatic and ready to go. 

Frosty Countdown from Pinterest
The original Frosty Countdown from Pinterest

The first thing I did was to unfold the box completely and cut out the largest two pieces (back and front) so that I could stencil them easier without all the extra in the way. Once that was done, I used a small salad plate to make the head. From there, I used a ruler to draw straight lines on the remainder of the cardboard to make a hat. Really, you just need a long, thin rectangle for the band, and short, fat rectangle centered on that for the hat. It’s supposed to look a little silly, so don’t worry about it being perfect. I eyeballed it and it all came out well! 

From there, I had the girls paint the head white with acrylic poster paint. They set that aside to dry, then I washed the paintbrushes out and we painted the hat black. Again, washed the brushes, and they painted the nose orange. From there, I painted the tiny black lines on the carrots, while they washed their hands. 

We watched a couple short Christmas movies while these dried, then we came back and used hot glue to attach Frosty’s hat.  I then was able to place the eyes where the girls wanted them, and glued them on with hot glue. Use what you have on hand for the eyes. If you have buttons, beads, construction paper, or something else you want to use for eyes, use them! It’ll still look adorable. 

From there, we figured out where we wanted the nose. I used sticky backed magnets for this, as I didn’t have any brass tabs. I hot glued one small square of a magnet to the white face, and one small square to the back of the carrot. This allowed the nose to move easily and I am very pleased with how it came out! 

The girls decided that since the “real” Frosty had a flower given to him by his wife Crystal, that their Frosty should also have a flower on his hat.

The "real" Frosty
The “real” Frosty

All I had on hand were autumn flowers, but the girls loved them, and so they were hot glued on! I think they give a lot of color to the piece, brightening it up. Feel free to use ribbon, holly, other leaves, or any momento you’d like. This is where you can really personalize it if you’d like. Let your child’s imagination flourish. Maybe Frosty has a beanie cap or a baseball cap instead of a stove pipe hat? I’ve learned a lot about my girls through their art work, so I try to let them have their say in their art work. 

Ok. Now you’ll need to decide how many days you want to countdown from. I didn’t think our Frosty could hold more than 24 numbers, so that’s what I did. Feel free to add more if you’d like. (And yes, I realize I’m posting this on Day 31 of the 31 Days of Christmas.) 

I hot glued a pop tab from a soda can on the back so this could be hung on the wall. I also ended up hot gluing two strips of magnets to the back so that we’d have options over the years as to where to hang this. I like options. And I like the idea of hanging this beauty year after year. 

Chelsea, my four year old on the left decided to give hers to her Grandma Grizzly for her fridge, so Theresa’s, my six year old, will be hanging hers at our house. My mom was pleased with her snowman, as she’s a nut for all things cute, sticky and made by my kids. (She’s also a nut for snow!) 

All in all, I think these came out really well! My girls absolutely love them and so do my Mom and I. What do you think? Will you give these a try? 

One thought on “31 Days Until Christmas: Frosty Countdown Clock

Leave a Reply

