Operation: Stretch That Grocery Budget – Watermelon Edition

Well, it’s summer time! If you have kids, you know what that means – popsicles, ice cream and smoothies on the menu! If you’re like me and you want your kids to eat healthy and save money on fresh produce, read on!

Yesterday I bought three watermelons for my family of four. Yes, three. And I’m going to use them all this month with nothing going to spoil. Some of the watermelon we won’t consume until the end of the month. I’m taking it out of the rind tomorrow and storing it. Got your interest?

The first watermelon was consumed by my daughters and their friends today at an impromptu pool party. No worries. It was fun watching them eat it.

Watermelon number two is being mixed with two cups of berries, mashed up and poured into Dixie cups. I’ll just pour a tiny bit of apple juice into the cups, stick a plastic spoon in there and pop them in the freezer. Voila! Popsicles to last a month!

Now, the third watermelon is getting mixed with strawberries, raspberries, some peaches and a nectarine. I’m going to pulverize this, store it in Ziploc freezer bags (1-½ to 2 cups of mixture per freezer bag) and store it for later. Whenever anyone wants a smoothie, I just need to pull it out, blend it with a bit of apple juice and top it with a dollop of whipped cream, stick a straw in there and voila!

Now, for those of you that like pineapple (I do, but my husband hates it) you can mix reserve some of the watermelon/berry/peach mixture and blend some pineapple in there for a tart treat. YUM!

And for those “naughty” girls out there who need a kick to their treat – add some Smirnoff and YUMMO! Instant awesomeness, right?

I just may have to run out and get me another watermelon….

Happy Homemaking, friends!

Leave a Reply

