Operation: Stretch Grocery Budget – Rotisserie Chicken Edition

So you went grocery shopping after a stressful day, caved and bought a rotisserie chicken for dinner. What do you do with it? Well, you glean five meals out of it and feed your furry friends a treat. That’s what! Here’s how!

I purchased a rotisserie chicken from my local grocer’s for $5. When my two little girls and I had eaten our fill (we’re not big meat eaters), I boned the chicken. I placed the meat in a freezer bag and put it in the freezer. I have chicken soup on my menu for the month, as well as chicken salad sandwiches. I’ll use this leftover chicken later in the month. Do not, and I repeat, do not throw out those bones! Toss these into the crock pot with 6 cups of water, put the lid on, turn it on high and in five hours, you’ll have the richest chicken broth you’ve ever tasted. It will make about 2 quarts of chicken broth. You’ve just solved the issue of having to purchase broth for any of your recipes this month! You’ve also saved yourself about $5 in store bought broth! HOORAY FOR YOU! Just take a strainer and get those bones and what-not out. But wait…there’s more! Don’t throw out the tiny bits of meat and “goodies” that you strain out. Want to make your grocery dollars stretch even further? Have a furry pet? Dog? Cat? Take that gob of meaty gunk you strained out plus four tablespoons of the broth and 2 or 3 cups of your pet’s dry food. In a blender or food processor, pulse it until it’s all combined. Store in an air tight container (or feed it to your pet right away) and you’ve got instant “canned food” for your furry friend. Yep. I just saved you another couple of bucks in pet food! (for those of you that might buy canned food for pets. I don’t, but my cats sure went nuts over their special treat!)

So, for a chicken that cost you about $5, you’re making five meals (the soup stretches far in our house) and feeding your pets a nutritious treat. Congratulations! You just saved at least $10 off your grocery bill! If that’s not frugality and ingenuity at it’s finest, I’m not sure what is!

Happy Homemaking, friends!

3 thoughts on “Operation: Stretch Grocery Budget – Rotisserie Chicken Edition

Leave a Reply

