God is Out of the Box

All too often, I place the restriction on God that He just is not allowed to give anymore, and that I am bound only to thank, never to ask. This is more than a bit asinine, considering that the times when I  most strictly enforce (or lamely attempt to enforce, seeing as how an infinite, Holy and powerful God has no reason to ever stoop to submitting to the likes of me) is when I truly am not enough in my own strength to simply survive through one day. It’s in these times that I just want to wilt. God is calling me to grow, and I outright refuse because I have already asked too much of Him.

In the bad times, God goes into a box so that I can make perfect sense of Him and what He is doing. I feel the need to know that what He is putting me through is truly worth all the pain and strife, and then, at that moment when  I finally feel I have reached an epiphany, I consent to grow. The stupid part of this, or rather, perhaps I shouldn’t say stupid,  but hilarious in a truly sad sense of the word, is that God doesn’t need for me to wait. He just moves on to plan B and gets me to the end of myself, so I can see the beginning of Him. “In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.” God. Created. The. Heavens. And. The. Earth. God did. Which means God knows how to make it all work in harmony. I don’t. I. Am. NOT. God.

The hardest realization for me lately is that God can give as much as He wants to. Let’s repeat that for full affect. God can give as much as He wants to. There are no limits on what God can do or be or give. What He expects of us is nothing  more than what we are already to give. He wants us to do what is right, love mercy and walk humbly with Him. He promises us in Matthew 11:30 that “my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Why is this? Because God knows we’re not enough on our own. He carries us and it (the burden) through the hard times for us. How is this? “Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. “

One thought on “God is Out of the Box

  1. Anthony Tirado says:

    It is really easy for one to put God in a box to make better sense of Him but that is not where God belongs. We have to remember that with God all things are possible for God is the creator of all things and He knows what tomorrow brings before it is even upon us. He knows what choices we will make before they happen and He always will. It is when we put our faith in Him and give ourselves to Him that we are able to see what He sees and what He wants for us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

