I Don’t Want to Miss This Again

For the last year and a half my family has had the pleasure and joy of attending the Crossroads at Lake Stevens. Pastor Mike, the humble and outstanding shepherd of the flock has been passionately preaching through the gospels, most recently – the gospel of Luke. Pastor Mike’s placed a lot of emphasis on Jesus and when he preaches and teaches about Jesus, you hear Jesus speaking. If you’re anything like me, you stop whatever you’re doing, take notes and listen carefully. You don’t want to miss this.

Luke 9 is where we’re at now, and it’s chock full of important messages that you don’t want to miss. As a busy mom and wife, I often make pitiful excuses as to why I do not have enough time in the day to read and study God’s Word, or do what He’s asking. I’m far too much of a Martha, and not nearly enough of a Mary, but I don’t want to miss what Jesus is saying in Luke 9, so I’m taking it slowly, letting it soak in, fill me up and spill out onto my children and husband. It’s time for a change, a radical one, and Jesus knows that. Luke 9:1-3 has stopped me in my tracks and reminded me of what Jesus has really commanded me to do, and it has nothing to do with keeping a clean house or making sure my toilet bowl is sanitized every morning.

When Jesus had called the Twelve together, He gave them power and authority to drive out all demons and cure diseases, and He sent them out to preach to the Kingdom of God and to heal the sick. He told them: “Take nothing for the journey – no staff, no bag, no bread, no money, no extra tunic.”

He told them to be Him. Wow. I don’t want to miss that. Not the importance of what He said and did, nor their immediate obedience in verse 6.

So they set out and went from village to village, preaching the gospel and healing people everywhere.

It’s taking some time to fully sink in because it’s monumental what Jesus did there. He didn’t just say to look on in pity at the suffering, the ill, and the afflicted. No! He gave them the authority and power to heal bodies, minds, broken hearts, and to cast out all demons. He gave them authority to speak in His name, and to finish the work He had started. I’m not sure about you, but I know that for me, it’s a life changing call to action as a follower of Christ. I’m no longer able to deny that or to glaze over it. I know what He wants now, and I’ve been commanded to do it. I don’t want to miss this again.

Leave a Reply

